Annual Congress 2017


 Keynote speakers

Dr Lynda Sisson, 

Consultant and Accredited Specialist in Occupational Medicine, National Clinical Lead in Workplace Health and Wellbeing

Dr Lynda Sisson MB BCh BAO MPH ACOEM FFOMI is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin. She initially trained in general practice in Ireland before specialising in Occupational Medicine in the USA in 1996.
She is American Board Certified in Occupational and Environmental Medicine and in Public and Preventive Medicine. She has a Masters’ in Public Health (Epidemiology) from the University of Minnesota. Following her return to Ireland in 1998, she was involved in setting up the national Professional Competence Schemes and Assessment Processes for Poorly Performing Doctors following legislation in her role as Director of Professional Competence in the Irish Medical Council in 2007.
She is currently the Vice Dean in the Faculty of Occupational Medicine. She is a member of the committee in the Faculty of Occupational Medicine that successfully attracted a major international medical conference to Dublin for 2018 and is actively involved in the preparations for this conference.
She currently lectures in the Institute of Leadership in the Royal College of Surgeons and is a trainer for Specialist Registers in the RCPI.
She has many years clinical experience in both the public and private sectors including pharma, healthcare, telecommunications amongst many others but her role at present is that of National Clinical Lead in Occupational Health in the Workplace Health and Wellbeing Unit in the Health Services.


Dr Cathy Stanard, Consultant in Pain Medicine, Gloucestershire.


Prof Robert Dyer,University of Cape Town and Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town

I have a background in Basic Sciences and Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia, have been Lead Clinician in Obstetric Anaesthesia at the University of Cape Town from 1999 - 2012, and have been an examiner for the final Fellowship of the College of Anaesthetists of South Africa for 15 years.  Since 2008 I have occupied the Second Chair of Anaesthesia at UCT.   My main area of research interest has been the haemodynamics of spinal anaesthesia in obstetrics, in healthy women and in preeclampsia.  In 2009 I graduated PhD at the University of Cape Town (UCT), entitled: “Haemodynamic consequences of spinal anaesthesia for non-emergency caesarean section”.  More recent interests include transthoracic echocardiography in obstetrics, with a focus on preeclampsia.  I have published over 80 publications and several book chapters, and currently supervise many Masters- and a PhD dissertation. I was recently elected as Chairperson of OASIS, the newly constituted special interest group in Obstetric Anaesthesia in South Africa. Since May 2017, I am Emeritus Professor and Senior Research Scholar, Dept of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine, University of Cape Town.

Dr Garry Benson, Belfast
Prof Christa Boer,VU University Medical Center, Amsterdam
Prof Donal Buggy, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin
Dr Mary Cannon, London
Dr John Carlise, Torby
Dr Eilis Condon, Connoly Hospital, Dublin
Dr Ian Conrick- Martin, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin
Dr Daniel Conway, Manchester Royal Infirmary, Manchester
Prof Tim Cook, Royal Untited Hospital, Bath
Dr Gerard Curley, Dublin
Prof Heather Draper, Warwick Medical School, Warwick
Dr Adrian Gelb, University of California, San Francisco
Dr Alex Goodwin, Royal United Hospital, Bath
Dr Nigel Harper, Manchester Roayl Infirmary, Manchester
Dr Anne Havey, Royal Cornwall Hospital Treliske, Cornwall
Dr Dan Harvey, Queens Medical Centre, Nottingham
Prof Mike Irwin, Queen Mary Hospital, Hong Kong 
Dr Fiona Keirnan, Beaumont Hospital, Dublin.
Dr Peter Lee, Cork Universtiy Hospital, Cork
Dr Gabriella Ioham, Cork University Hospital, Cork
Prof James Lucey, Dublin
Prof Pam Macintyre, Royal Adelaide Hospital, Adelaide
Dr Brian Marsh, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin
Dr Kate McCoombe, Mediclinic City Hospital, Dubai, UAE
Dr Michael McCooe, Bradford
Dr John McDonnell, Galway University Hospital, Galway
Dr Forbes McGain, Western Health Melbourne, Australia
Dr Patrick Neligan, Galway
Dr Samantha Shinde, London
Dr Tim Smith, Tayside
Mr Kathey Stannard, Southmead Hospital, Bristol
Dr Frank Swinton, Aeirdale General Hospital, Aeirdale
Dr Sarah Thornton, Royal Bolton Hospital, Manchester
Dr Andre Vercueil, Kings College Hospital, London
Dr Matt Wiles, Sheffield Teaching Hospital, Sheffield
Dr Iain Wilson, World Anaesthesia Society, Exeter
Workshop Leads
Dr Mike Kinsella
Dr Louise Moran
Prof Ellen O'Sullivan, St James's Hospital, Dublin
Dr Nancy Redfern, Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle